Home Page

On October 2, 2012, Governor Peter Shumlin created the Governor’s Energy Generation Siting Policy Commission through Executive Order No. 10-12. The charge of the Commission was to survey best practices for siting approval of electric generation projects (all facilities except for net- and group-net-metered facilities) and for public participation and representation in the siting process, and to report to the Governor and to the  Vermont Legislature on their findings by April 30, 2013. The Commission also looked at alternative dispute resolution processes for project siting, permit coordination opportunities, how cumulative project impact is considered, and whether generic siting guidelines should be developed. The Executive Order ensured the opportunity for public input and comment.  This site is a record of the Commission's work.

Appointees of the Commission

Appointees of the Commission, selected by the Commissioner of the Public Service (who serves on the Commission ex officio, as does the Secretary of the Agency of Natural Resources), include:

Gaye Symington

Executive Director of the High Meadows Fund and former Speaker of the Vermont House of Representatives

Jan Eastman

Past President of the Snelling Center for Government and former Secretary of the Vermont Agency of Natural Resources

Tom Bodett

East Dummerston, VT, Selectboard member and municipal representative to the VT Enhanced 911 Board

Louise McCarren

Former Chair of the Vermont Public Service Board

Scott Johnstone

Executive Director of the Vermont Energy Investment Corporation and former Secretary of the Vermont Agency of Natural Resources

Final Report

On 4/30/13 the Commission released its Final Report. Please see the press release for more information.